Smith helps lead WKU Esports to division championships | Sentinel News

The varsity Esports program at WKU had a triumphant fall semester, with both the Varsity League of Legends and Rocket League teams securing division championships. The team of League of Legends clinched the fall division national championship in the College League of Legends tournament, which was hosted by Riot Games. They locked horns with teams from California State Polytechnic, the University of North Florida and more. The team comprised student coach Parker Evans of Bowling Green, Ethan Hagan of Bardstown, Levi Hagan of Bardstown, Harrison Hunt of Louisville, Nicholas Johnson of Elizabethtown, Trey Muller of Louisville, Andrew Petitt of Paducah, Benedek Por of Bowling Green, Peyton Smith of Simpsonville, and Sammy Wooten of Louisville. Similarly, the Rocket League team bagged the fall division national championship in the NACE Starleague tournament. The participants they faced included teams from Kansas State, St. Cloud University and beyond. The Rocket League team included student coach Isaac Lockwood of Mayfield, Jay Bailey of Jamestown, Michael Delaney of Paducah, Gavin Maynard of Glasgow and Jordon Sorrells of Owensboro.

Smith’s leadership skills significantly contributed to the division championships won by WKU Esports.

Source link