MPLI 2023 group stage: Schedule, results, where to watch

The playoffs will include only eight teams.

November 17 update, 1:27 a.m. (GMT+8): Latest scores and standings have been updated.

The 2023 season of the Mobile Legends: Bang Bang Professional League Invitational (MPLI 2023) has arrived. 16 formidable teams are battling for a total prize fund of US$100,000.

Surprisingly, ONIC Esports, the reigning champions for the past two seasons, has opted out of the tournament. This opens up an opportunity for a new team to grab the MPLI title this season.

The tournament has mainly been dominated by Indonesian teams since its establishment in 2020. However, this season sees a spike in the competition as teams from both MPL and non-MPL regions, including the Philippines, are consolidating their positions to win the esteemed title.

During this stage, merely two teams from each of the four groups will progress to the playoffs, making the competitions more fierce.

For regular updates, here’s a detailed rundown of the MPLI 2023 group stage, including its format, timetable, outcomes, and where to view the games.

The format of MPLI 2023 group stage

Courtesy: ONE Esports

The group stage comprises 16 teams divided into four separate groups. Team placement is decided based on fan votes.

AP Bren Blacklist International ECHO See You Soon
Nova Esports Geek Fam EVOS Legends RRQ
TheOhioBrothers Team Falcons Bigetron Alpha Team Flash
Dewa United HomeBois Rebellion Zion RSG PH

The matches follow a one-round round-robin structure and are played in a best-of-one format.

After the group stage concludes, the highest-ranked team from each group shifts to the upper bracket playoffs, while the second-ranked team enters the lower bracket.

The two teams finishing last in their respective groups will be ruled out of the tournament.

MPLI 2023 group stage schedule, results, standings

Credit: Moonton Games

The group phase is scheduled for November 15 and 16.

Group A

AP Bren 3 — 0
TheOhioBrothers 2 — 1
Dewa United Esports 1 — 1
Nova Esports 0 — 3

AP Bren and TheOhioBrothers have qualified for the playoffs.

Dewa United Esports and Nova Esports are out of the tournament.

Group B


Source link