Michael McDowell clinches playoff spot, holding off Chase Elliott on the Indy road course

Michael McDowell claimed victory in the Verizon 200 at Indianapolis Motor Speedway Road Course. McDowell overtook pole-sitter Daniel Suárez on lap 6 and held onto the lead for the remainder of the race. Despite a caution on lap 2, McDowell capitalized on his track position and skillful driving to secure his second NASCAR Cup Series playoff appearance. McDowell praised his team for their efforts and described the victory as dominant. The results of the race are as follows:

1. Michael McDowell (34), Front Row Motorsports Ford
2. Chase Elliott (9), Hendrick Motorsports Chevrolet
3. Daniel Suárez (99), Trackhouse Racing Chevrolet
4. Tyler Reddick (45), 23XI Racing Toyota
5. Alex Bowman (48), Hendrick Motorsports Chevrolet
6. Chase Briscoe (14), Stewart-Haas Racing Ford
7. Martin Truex Jr. (19), Joe Gibbs Racing Toyota
8. Kyle Larson (5), Hendrick Motorsports Chevrolet
9. Christopher Bell (20), Joe Gibbs Racing Toyota
10. Shane van Gisbergen (91), Trackhouse Racing Chevrolet
11. Chris Buescher (17), RFK Racing Ford
12. Ty Gibbs (54), Joe Gibbs Racing Toyota
13. Ryan Blaney (12), Team Penske Ford
14. William Byron (24), Hendrick Motorsports Chevrolet
15. Austin Cindric (2), Team Penske Ford
16. Austin Dillon (3), Richard Childress Racing Chevrolet
17. Ross Chastain (1), Trackhouse Racing Chevrolet
18. Bubba Wallace (23), 23XI Racing Toyota
19. Denny Hamlin (11), Joe Gibbs Racing Toyota
20. Brad Keselowski (6), RFK Racing Ford

Source link