sports personality of: Sports Personality of the Year: Start time, date of the nominee announcement

Like every year, the BBC will recognise the sports superstars of the year with its annual edition of the BBC Sports Personality of the Year Award. This year, significant achievements include England’s win in the T20 cricket World Cup. Also, 2022 was the year for the Lionesses, as England’s national football team witnessed their first-ever major victory in the Euro 2022 campaign.

The ceremony will be held on Wednesday, December 21 at Mediacity Salford, UK. The event will start at 6.45 pm (local time). Viewers can watch the entire ceremony on BBC One or BBC iPlayer. Gabby Logan, Clare Balding, Gary Lineker and Alex Scott will present the show.

The major award of the event is the Sports Personality of the Year award. BBC will announce the shortlisted candidates on Tuesday, 20 December. Public votes then decide the winners.

Beth Mead, who plays as a forward for the Women’s Super League Club, Arsenal is the crowd favourite to win the award this year. Others include Ben Stokes, Ronnie O Sullivan and Natasha Jonas.

National Sports Awards:Virat Kohli, Mirabai Chanu, Hima Das Shine, Proud Families By Their …

The Winners Take It All

The National Sports Awards ceremony was a proud-families affair as President Ram Nath Kovind felicitated sports stars.

Team India captain Virat Kohli, and weightlifter Mirabai Chanu were honoured with the Khel Ratna award that carries a prize of Rs 7.5 lakh.

The Arjuna Award, that carries a prize amount of Rs 5 lakh with a citation, was given to 20 sportspersons. Apart from the Khel Ratna and Arjuna awards, the President also gave away Dronacharya and Dhyan Chand awards to coaches, the Tenzing Norgay National Adventure awards, Maulana Abul Kalam Azad Trophy and Rashtriya Khel Protsahan Puraskar at the Rashtrapati Bhawan.

In Pic (clockwise from left): Kohli and Chanu; the Indian skipper’s actress-wife Anushka Sharma, mother Saroj and brother Vikas; athlete Hima Das with father Ronjit; weightlifter Chanu with mother Saikohm Ongbi Tombi Leima.

Two Proud Women

Virat Kohli had the women in his life, mum Saroj and wife Anushka, applaud for for him as he was awarded India’s highest sporting honour by President Kovind. The Indian skipper who has been rested during the ongoing Asia Cup received the Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna award.

Kohli is the third cricketer to be honoured with the Khel Ratna after Sachin Tendulkar (1997-1998) and MS Dhoni (2007).

Actress Anushka Sharma opted for a Sabyasachi Mukherjee tussar-georgette saree lined with old tilla borders and paired it with a hazar-buti blouse, and 22K polki earrings.

Pride And Joy

Weightlifter Saikhom Mirabai Chanu, the first Indian to win gold at the World Championships in more than two decades, was the other sportsperson to be honoured with the prestigious Khel Ratna award. Chanu’s mother, Saikohm Ongbi Tombi Leima, made for a beaming picture in the audience.

Girl Power

Table Tennis player Manika Batra (R), who created history by becoming the first Indian female TT player to win an Asiad medal, received the Arjuna Award.

Shooter Shreyasi Singh (L) was also among the 20 Arjuna Award recipients at the National Sports and Adventure Award 2018.

Family First

Arjuna Awardees hockey player Manpreet Singh and Savita Punia strike a pose with their family members during a dinner hosted in the honour of the winners of National Sports and Adventure Awards, in New Delhi.

There are seven other awards to be announced along with the main award- World Superstar of the year, Coach of the year, Unsung Hero, Lifetime achievement award, Team of the Year, Helen Rollason award and Young sports personality of the year.

The previous recipients of the main award include Lewis Hamilton, who won the Sports personality of the year award in 2020. Emma Raducanu won the title in 2021 for her win in the US Open, at just 18 years old.

In the latest news, Argentina’s Captian Lionel Messi is announced as the BBC’s World’s Sports personality of the year.


  1. Where can we watch the BBC Sports Personality of the Year award ceremony?
    You can watch the entire award show on BBC one or BBC iplayer on 21 December.
  2. Who chooses the winners of the BBC sports awards?
    The winners of the BBC sports personality of the year are selected by public vote.

Disclaimer Statement: This content is authored by an external agency. The views expressed here are that of the respective authors/ entities and do not represent the views of Economic Times (ET). ET does not guarantee, vouch for or endorse any of its contents nor is responsible for them in any manner whatsoever. Please take all steps necessary to ascertain that any information and content provided is correct, updated, and verified. ET hereby disclaims any and all warranties, express or implied, relating to the report and any content therein.

Source link