NCAA softball tournament regionals 2023: Bracket revealed for Road to Women’s College World Series

Oklahoma has been crowned champion of the NCAA softball world in Oklahoma City for two consecutive seasons. Will it be third time’s the charm with more home cooking in 2023?

There are 64 teams across the country with an eye toward getting to USA Softball Hall of Fame Stadium for the Women’s College World Series that begins on Thursday, June 1. Before that can happen, these teams will battle through the regional and super regional rounds. 

It’s a double-elimination format for the regionals and the super regional round is a best-of-three. The team to beat is once again Oklahoma, which holds a whopping 51-1 record after winning the Big 12. The Sooners haven’t lost since February, with that lone defeat coming to Baylor 4-3. 

Only 25 miles separate the Oklahoma campus and USA Softball Hall of Fame Stadium, essentially making the site the Sooners’ home away from home. It’ll be a tough task for anyone to keep them from a lucky number, the seventh piece of hardware for the trophy case. Who will wind up in their path? 

MORE: Watch NCAA softball games live with Fubo (free trial)

The Sporting News followed the NCAA softball regional selection live. 

NCAA softball regional sites 2023

There are 16 sites for the regional section of the bracket. 

Regional site Host
Norman, Okla. Oklahoma
Los Angeles UCLA
Tallahassee, Fla. Florida State
Knoxville, Tenn. Tennessee
Tuscaloosa, Ala. Alabama
Stillwater, Okla. Oklahoma State
Seattle Washington
Durham, N.C. Duke
Stanford, Calif. Stanford
Baton Rouge, La. LSU
Fayetteville, Ark. Arkansas 
Evanston, Ill. Northwestern
Austin, Texas Texas
Athens, Ga. Georgia
Salt Lake City Utah
Clemson, S.C. Clemson

NCAA softball tournament bracket 2023

There are four teams in each of the 16 regions. The regional stage is double-elimination, so whoever advances to the super regionals will have three wins under their belt at that point. 

Oklahoma is the No. 1 overall seed in the tournament. 

The No. 1 team in each region will face off against No. 4, while No. 2 will play No. 3 in the first game.

Norman Regional

  1. Oklahoma (1)
  2. Missouri
  3. California
  4. Hofstra 

Los Angeles Regional

  1. UCLA (2)
  2. San Diego State
  3. Liberty
  4. Grand Canyon

Tallahassee Regional

  1. Florida State (3)
  2. UCF
  3. South Carolina
  4. Marist

Knoxville Regional

  1. Tennessee (4)
  2. Louisville
  3. Indiana
  4. Northern Kentucky

Tuscaloosa Regional

  1. Alabama (5)
  2. Middle Tennessee
  3. Central Arkansas
  4. LIU

Stillwater Regional

  1. Oklahoma State (6)
  2. Nebraska
  3. Wichita State
  4. UMBC

Seattle Regional

  1. Washington (7)
  2. McNeese
  3. Minnesota
  4. Northern Colorado

Durham Regional

  1. Duke (8)
  2. Campbell
  3. Charlotte
  4. George Mason

Stanford Regional 

  1. Stanford (9)
  2. Loyola Marymount
  3. Florida
  4. Long Beach State

Baton Rouge Regional

  1. LSU (10)
  2. Omaha
  3. Louisiana 
  4. Prairie View

Fayetteville Regional

  1. Arkansas (11)
  2. Notre Dame
  3. Oregon
  4. Harvard

Evanston Regional

  1. Northwestern (12)
  2. Miami (Ohio)
  3. Kentucky 
  4. Eastern Illinois

Austin Regional

  1. Texas (13)
  2. Texas State
  3. Texas A&M
  4. Seton Hall

Athens Regional

  1. Georgia (14)
  2. Boston University
  3. Virginia Tech
  4. N.C. Central

Salt Lake City Regional

  1. Utah (15)
  2. Ole Miss
  3. Baylor
  4. Southern Illinois

Clemson Regional

  1. Clemson (16)
  2. Cal State Fullerton
  3. Auburn
  4. UNC Greensboro

Source link